American ace

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: MG+ - BL: 5.4 - AR Pts: 1
Lexile measure:
780L
Description
This riveting novel in verse, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Toni Morrison, explores American history and race through the eyes of a teenage boy embracing his newfound identity Connor's grandmother leaves his dad a letter when she dies, and the letter's confession shakes their tight-knit Italian-American family: The man who raised Dad is not his birth father. But the only clues to this birth father's identity are a class ring and a pair of pilot's wings. And so Connor takes it upon himself to investigate--a pursuit that becomes even more pressing when Dad is hospitalized after a stroke. What Connor discovers will lead him and his father to a new, richer understanding of race, identity, and each other.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780803733053
9780147525789
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 5.4, 1 Points
Lexile measure:
780L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6f48095a-0a26-735d-8cdb-3aaaad7b22c7
Grouping Title american ace
Grouping Author nelson marilyn
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-24 23:03:32PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-24 00:18:11AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 1
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.4
author Marilyn Nelson
author_display Nelson, Marilyn
available_at_school Cane Ridge High, Madison Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, Madison Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description Sixteen-year-old Connor tries to help his severely depressed father, who learned upon his mother's death that Nonno was not his biological father, by doing research that reveals Dad's father was probably a Tuskegee Airman.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook
id 6f48095a-0a26-735d-8cdb-3aaaad7b22c7
isbn 9780147525789, 9780803733053
item_details ils:CARL0000476659|35192048221919|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Nelson|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000476659|35192048221927|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Nelson|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000476659|FF00120831|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F NEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000476659|QQ00253133|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F NEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, overdrive:0ed93c5a-fb57-45a1-b5ef-44aa4c0c78aa|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-24T05:18:11.251Z
lexile_score 780
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Poetry
local_callnumber_school F NEL
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Cane Ridge High, Madison Middle
primary_isbn 9780803733053
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000476659|Book|Books||English|Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC,|[2016]|123 pages : illustrations; 22 cm., overdrive:0ed93c5a-fb57-45a1-b5ef-44aa4c0c78aa|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0ed93c5a-fb57-45a1-b5ef-44aa4c0c78aa -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000476659 QQ00253133 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476659 FF00120831 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476659 35192048221919 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000476659 35192048221927 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
subject_facet Family life -- Fiction, Fathers and sons -- Fiction, Identity -- Fiction, Novels in verse, Racially mixed people -- Fiction, United States. -- Army Air Forces. -- Bombardment Group, 477th -- Fiction
title_display American ace
title_full American Ace, American ace / Marilyn Nelson
title_short American ace
title_sub
topic_facet Family life, Fathers and sons, Identity, Novels in verse, Poetry, Racially mixed people, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature