Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

10 things I can see from here

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 3.9 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 560L
Description
Perfect for fans of John Green's Turtles All the Way Down, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything. Think positive. Don't worry; be happy. Keep calm and carry on. Maeve has heard it all before. She's been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it's not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom--the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through--is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver. Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn't seem to worry about anything. Between her dad's wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves? An ALA Rainbow Book List selection A Bank Street Best Book of the Year "With Maeve, Mac delivers a character who's heartwarmingly real and sympathetic, and her story provides a much needed mirror for anxious queer girls everywhere."-- Kirkus , Starred review "This is a good companion book for other anxiety-riddled stories, such as The Shattering by Karen Healey, and Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella."-- Booklist "This hopeful offering will resonate with young people for their own lives, even if the journey is hard and takes time and patience...[a] compelling portrait of a teen's experiences with anxiety and challenging family dynamics."-- SLJ "Mac carefully makes clear that Maeve is plenty able to find joy other places than the perfect girl and that she's working at dealing with her own problems; the romance is therefore lovely and cozy and free from overtones of dependency. The descriptions of anxiety are true and powerful, and romance buffs will likely revel in a book celebrating deep connection."-- The Bulletin "Mac is good at showing how a dread-filled mind works... [An] affecting story.''-- Publishers Weekly
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399556265
9780399556272
9780399556258
Reading Level:
UG
Level 3.9, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 560L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6a512706-089d-be7c-06b3-52862162e697
Grouping Title 10 things i can see from here
Grouping Author mac carrie
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-19 23:26:08PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 02:32:33AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 10
accelerated_reader_reading_level 3.9
author Mac, Carrie, 1975-
author_display Carrie Mac
available_at_school Antioch High, East Nashville Magnet High, Hillwood High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Whites Creek High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction, East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction, Hillwood High - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Maplewood High - Teen Fiction, Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction, Overton High - Teen Fiction, Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction
display_description Maeve, a sufferer of severe anxiety, moves in with her recovering alcoholic father and her very pregnant stepmother and falls for a girl who is not afraid of anything.
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id 6a512706-089d-be7c-06b3-52862162e697
isbn 9780399556258, 9780399556265, 9780399556272
item_details ils:CARL0000502196|35192049383031|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mac|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000502196|35192049383049|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mac|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000502196|35192049383056|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mac|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000502196|35192049383072|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mac|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000502196|35192049383080|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mac|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000502196|35192049383098|Thompson Lane - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Mac|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000502196|QQ00257607|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000502196|QQ00257805|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000502196|QQ00257919|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000502196|QQ00258106|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000502196|QQ00261008|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000502196|QQ00261603|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000502196|QQ00262781|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000502196|QQ00264507|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|ROM F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000502196|TT00011721|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, overdrive:f89f9938-19b2-4e1e-9ed3-b7e7ca6a514c|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-20T07:32:33.483Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 560
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F MAC, ROM F MAC
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High, East Nashville Magnet High, Hillwood High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Whites Creek High
primary_isbn 9780399556265
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000502196|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|[2017]|312 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:f89f9938-19b2-4e1e-9ed3-b7e7ca6a514c|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:f89f9938-19b2-4e1e-9ed3-b7e7ca6a514c -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000502196 QQ00258106 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000502196 35192049383049 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000502196 35192049383080 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000502196 QQ00262781 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000502196 QQ00257805 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000502196 QQ00257919 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000502196 35192049383031 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000502196 QQ00261008 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000502196 QQ00257607 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000502196 35192049383098 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000502196 TT00011721 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000502196 QQ00261603 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000502196 35192049383072 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000502196 QQ00264507 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000502196 35192049383056 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
subject_facet Anxiety disorders -- Fiction, Fathers and daughters -- Fiction, Lesbian teenagers -- Fiction, Lesbians -- Fiction, Love -- Fiction, Love stories, Young adult fiction
title_display 10 things I can see from here
title_full 10 Things I Can See from Here, 10 things I can see from here / Carrie Mac
title_short 10 things I can see from here
title_sub
topic_facet Anxiety disorders, Fathers and daughters, Humor (Fiction), Lesbian teenagers, Lesbians, Love, Love stories, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction