La vida secreta de las abejas

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Penguin Books,
Pub. Date:
2005.
Language:
Spanish
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 5.9 - AR Pts: 15
Description
Sue Monk Kidd's first novel The Secret Life of Bees , a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, and a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick   Fans of The Help will love Sue Monk Kidd's Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964,  The Secret Life of Bees  will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's The Help and Beth Hoffman's Saving CeeCee Honeycutt , and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780143035794
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.9, 15 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 60d7a492-0f69-b249-5e48-31ea309f6fa3
Grouping Title vida secreta de las abejas
Grouping Author kidd sue monk
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-11-27 22:53:25PM
Last Indexed 2019-12-07 00:14:47AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 15
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.9
auth_author2 Paredes, Laura.
author Kidd, Sue Monk.
author2-role Paredes, Laura.
author_display Kidd, Sue Monk
available_at_school Antioch High
Overton High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction
Overton High - Teen Fiction
display_description Wnen Lily's black nanny insults a group of angry white men on her way to register to vote in the 1960s, Lily and Rosaleen flee and are taken in by three bee-keeping sisters.
format_category_school Books
format_school Book
id 60d7a492-0f69-b249-5e48-31ea309f6fa3
isbn 9780143035794
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000573722 QQ00233347 Overton High - Teen Fiction SPA F KID 1 false false On Shelf 6F615
ils:CARL0000573722 QQ00246393 Antioch High - Teen Fiction F KID 1 false false On Shelf 60110
itype_school Book
last_indexed 2019-12-07T06:14:47.177Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F KID
SPA F KID
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High
Overton High
primary_isbn 9780143035794
publishDate 2005
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000573722 Book Books Spanish Penguin Books, 2005. 303 p. ; 19 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000573722 QQ00233347 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000573722 QQ00246393 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
subject_facet African American women -- Fiction
Beekeepers -- Fiction
Maternal deprivation -- Fiction
Race relations -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
South Carolina -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
title_display La vida secreta de las abejas
title_full La vida secreta de las abejas / Sue Monk Kidd ; traducción de Laura Paredes
title_short La vida secreta de las abejas
topic_facet African American women
Beekeepers
Maternal deprivation
Race relations
Sisters
Teenage girls