Once dead, twice shy: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: MG+ - BL: 4.9 - AR Pts: 9
Lexile measure:
750L
Description
What will it take for the American people to enact a more democratic version of themselves? How to better educate democratic minds and democratic hearts? In response to these crucial predicaments, this innovative book proposes that instead of ignoring or repressing the conflicted nature of American identity, these conflicts should be recognized as sites of pedagogical opportunity.Kerry Burch revives eight fundamental pieces of political public rhetoric into living artifacts, into provocative instruments of democratic pedagogy. From "The Pursuit of Happiness" to "The Military-Industrial Complex," Burch invites readers to encounter the fertile contradictions pulsating at the core of American identity, transforming this conflicted symbolic terrain into a site of pedagogical analysis and development. The learning theory embodied in the structure of the book breaks new ground in terms of deepening and extending what it means to "teach the conflicts" and invites healthy reader participation with America's defining civic controversies. The result is a highly teachable book in the tradition of A People's History of the United States and Lies My Teacher Told Me.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061718168
9780061799587
9780061888175
9780061718205
9780061441684
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 4.9, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
750L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5fd5e51e-9c06-0445-50ca-a71f64941445
Grouping Title once dead twice shy
Grouping Author harrison kim
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-12-15 22:42:45PM
Last Indexed 2019-12-15 23:29:59PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 9
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.9
author Kim Harrison
author_display Harrison, Kim
available_at_school Antioch High
Oliver Middle
Overton High
Pearl-Cohn High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction
Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction
Overton High - Teen Fiction
Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction
display_description Spunky teen Madison, though technically dead, uses a stolen amulet to retain the illusion of a body and help her in the struggle between Light and Dark reapers.
format_category_school Audio Books
Books
eBook
format_school Book
eAudiobook
eBook
id 5fd5e51e-9c06-0445-50ca-a71f64941445
isbn 9780061441684
9780061718168
9780061718205
9780061799587
9780061888175
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000597232 B00627915 Overton High - Teen Fiction F HAR 1 false false On Shelf 6F615
ils:CARL0000597232 FF00018099 Antioch High - Teen Fiction F HAR 1 false false On Shelf 60110
overdrive:67d1d240-4767-4618-9ca4-146a3348e638 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000332686 A01941668 Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction F HAR 1 false false On Shelf 4S612
ils:CARL0000332686 A01797030 Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction Fantasy F HAR 1 false false On Shelf 6G632
overdrive:5c89140c-814c-4f36-b921-8a40d54fb358 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
itype_school
Book
last_indexed 2019-12-16T05:29:59.803Z
lexile_score 750
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F HAR
Fantasy F HAR
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High
Oliver Middle
Overton High
Pearl-Cohn High
primary_isbn 9780061718168
publishDate 2009
2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000597232 Book Books 1st pbk. ed. English Harper, 2010, c2009. ix, 232, 11 p. ; 21 cm.
overdrive:67d1d240-4767-4618-9ca4-146a3348e638 eBook eBook English HarperCollins 2009
ils:CARL0000332686 Book Books 1st ed. English HarperCollins Publishers, 2009. vii, 232 p. ; 22 cm.
overdrive:5c89140c-814c-4f36-b921-8a40d54fb358 eAudiobook Audio Books English HarperCollins 2009
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000597232 B00627915 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000597232 FF00018099 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
overdrive:67d1d240-4767-4618-9ca4-146a3348e638 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000332686 A01941668 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000332686 A01797030 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
overdrive:5c89140c-814c-4f36-b921-8a40d54fb358 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Madison Avery novels
series_with_volume Madison Avery novels|1
subject_facet Amulets -- Fiction
Avery, Madison (Fictitious character) -- Fiction
Dead -- Fiction
Dead. -- Fiction
Death -- Fiction
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction, American
Good and evil -- Fiction
Horror tales, American
Paranormal fiction
Supernatural -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
Young adult fiction
title_display Once dead, twice shy : a novel
title_full Once Dead, Twice Shy Madison Avery Series, Book 1
Once dead, twice shy : a novel / Kim Harrison
title_short Once dead, twice shy :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Amulets
Avery, Madison (Fictitious character)
Dead
Death
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction, American
Good and evil
Horror tales, American
Paranormal fiction
Supernatural
Teenage girls
Young Adult Fiction