Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

Fields of battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
"My boys were going in and I felt like we should stay together as a team. We were just participating in a different battle." -Wallace Wade, head coach of the 1942 Duke football teamIn the wake of the bombing of Pearl Harbor, the 1942 Rose Bowl was moved from Pasadena to Duke University out of fear of further Japanese attacks on the West Coast. Shortly after this unforgettable game, many of the players and coaches entered the military and went on to serve around the world in famous battlegrounds, from Iwo Jima and Okinawa to Normandy and the Battle of the Bulge, where fate and destiny would bring them back together on faraway battlefields, fighting on the same team.For fans of Unbroken and Boys in the Boat, Fields of Battle sheds light on a little-known slice of American history where WWII and football intersect. Author and sports journalist Brian Curtis captures in gripping detail an intimate account of the teamwork, grit, and determination that took place on both the football and battle fields.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781250059581
9781250059604
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5bf79167-0a06-c2ef-b6ac-7f9ff7e8af15
Grouping Title fields of battle pearl harbor the rose bowl and the boys who went to war
Grouping Author curtis brian
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-18 22:57:00PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-18 01:07:19AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Brian Curtis
author_display Brian Curtis
available_at_school MLK Jr. Magnet
collection_school Non-Fiction
detailed_location_school MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction
display_description "In the wake of the bombing of Pearl Harbor, the 1942 Rose Bowl was moved from Pasadena to Duke University out of fear of further Japanese attacks on the West Coast. Shortly after this unforgettable game, many of the players and coaches left their respective colleges, entered the military, and went on to serve around the world in famous battlegrounds, from Iwo Jima and Okinawa to Normandy and the Battle of the Bulge, where fate and destiny would bring them back together on faraway battlefields, fighting on the same team. Fields of Battle is a powerful story that sheds light on a little-known slice of American history where World War II and football intersect. Author Brian Curtis captures in gripping detail an intimate account of the teamwork, grit, and determination that took place on both the football and battle fields"--
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id 5bf79167-0a06-c2ef-b6ac-7f9ff7e8af15
isbn 9781250059581, 9781250059604
item_details ils:CARL0000496205|35192048987550|Donelson - Adult Non-Fiction|940.54 C9785f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000496205|35192048987568|Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction|940.54 C9785f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000496205|35192048987584|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|940.54 C9785f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000496205|FF00129378|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction|940.54 CUR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, overdrive:8505582f-7ecf-4e0b-b66a-66487636e439|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-18T06:07:19.94Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_school 940.54 CUR
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school MLK Jr. Magnet
primary_isbn 9781250059581
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000496205|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Flatiron Books,|2016.|x, 308 pages, 16 pages of plates : illustrations ; 25 cm., overdrive:8505582f-7ecf-4e0b-b66a-66487636e439|eBook|eBook||English|Flatiron Books|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8505582f-7ecf-4e0b-b66a-66487636e439 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000496205 FF00129378 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000496205 35192048987584 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000496205 35192048987550 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000496205 35192048987568 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
subject_facet College athletes -- United States -- Biography, Football coaches -- United States -- Biography, Football players -- United States -- Biography, Pearl Harbor (Hawaii), Attack on, 1941 -- Influence, Rose Bowl (Football game) -- (1942 : -- Durham, N.C.), Rose Bowl (Football game) -- History -- 20th century, Soldiers -- United States -- Biography, World War, 1939-1945 -- Campaigns, World War, 1939-1945 -- United States -- Biography
title_display Fields of battle : Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the boys who went to war
title_full Fields of Battle Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War, Fields of battle : Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the boys who went to war / Brian Curtis
title_short Fields of battle :
title_sub Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War
topic_facet Campaigns, College athletes, Football coaches, Football players, History, Influence, Military, Nonfiction, Pearl Harbor (Hawaii), Attack on, 1941, Soldiers, Sports & Recreations, World War, 1939-1945