The waking dark

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 5.8 - AR Pts: 19
Lexile measure:
870L
Description
The Waking Dark is "a horror story worthy of Stephen King" ( Booklist ) and "a book you won't soon forget" (Cassandra Clare, author of the Mortal Instruments series)--perfect for readers of Gillian Flynn and Rick Yancey. They called it the killing day. Twelve people murdered, in the space of a few hours, their killers also all dead by their own hand . . . except one. And that one has no answers to offer the shattered town. Something is waking in the sleepy town of Oleander, Kansas--something dark and hungry that lives in the flat earth and the open sky, in the vengeful hearts of its upstanding citizens. As the town begins a descent into blood and madness, five survivors of the killing day are the only ones who can stop Oleander from destroying itself. They have nothing in common. They have nothing left to lose. And they have no way out. Which means they have no choice but to stand and fight, to face the darkness in their town--and in themselves. "Suspense, chills, gasps--all that and a gem-like writing style that will make you shiver with beauty and horror. A book you won't soon forget." --Cassandra Clare, author of the bestselling Mortal Instruments series and Infernal Devices trilogy "Twisted, pulse-pounding, shocking, and very, very scary. With The Waking Dark, Robin Wasserman conjures vintage Stephen King as she peers into the dark heart of a nightmare America, where violence and evil lurk behind the golden glow of small-town life, and new terrors arrive by the hour. A superb horror story that is by turns visceral and lyrical, heartrending and heart-stopping." --Libba Bray, bestselling author of the Gemma Doyle trilogy and the Diviners series "This book has the combination of mystery and fright that I love. So many twists and shocks, I nearly jumped out of my chair several times! Trust me--this is a true chiller. Not to be missed!" --R. L. Stine "A thriller dark and beautiful and--yes--achingly romantic at every unexpected twist and turn. Astounding." --Lauren Myracle, New York Times bestselling author of The Infinite Moment of Us and Bliss "Wild, nihilistic madness that will get true horror fans raising their pitchforks and torches in frenzied glee. Wasserman writes as if hooked up to IVs of Stephen King and John Carpenter's spiked blood." --Daniel Kraus, author of Rotters and Scowler "Great dialogue and intriguing subplots add to the action-packed story . . . the suspense doesn't let up until the final pages." -- School Library Journal, Starred Review
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780375868771
9780375872785
9780375899621
9780307968135
9780375968778
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.8, 19 Points
Lexile measure:
870L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5b91a903-1e93-a79a-a7fe-b58af1ab6b85
Grouping Title waking dark
Grouping Author wasserman robin
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-20 23:34:33PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-21 00:19:07AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 19
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.8
author Wasserman, Robin.
author_display Wasserman, Robin
available_at_school Cane Ridge High, Glencliff High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Maplewood High - Teen Fiction
display_description "After a series of suicide-killings and a deadly storm, the residents of the town of Oleander, Kansas, start acting even more strangely than would be expected. Only the 5 witnesses of the murders retain their sound minds, and must band together to save the town from whatever has come over it"--Provided by publisher.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id 5b91a903-1e93-a79a-a7fe-b58af1ab6b85
isbn 9780307968135, 9780375868771, 9780375872785, 9780375899621, 9780375968778
item_details ils:CARL0000419589|35192042905004|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Wasserm|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, ils:CARL0000419589|B00540635|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F WAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000419589|FF00078337|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F WAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000419589|FF00083489|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F WAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000419589|QQ00160462|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F WAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000677595|FF00130127|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F WAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, overdrive:22d7ef7d-d2c5-45a5-92d9-3123553f33a4|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:ed80c86c-95d6-41ce-8ec6-be4095115d17|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-21T05:19:07.871Z
lexile_score 870
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F WAS
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Cane Ridge High, Glencliff High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High
primary_isbn 9780375868771
publishDate 2013, 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000419589|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|2013.|454 pages ; 22 cm., ils:CARL0000677595|Book|Books|1st Ember ed. 2014.|English|Ember,|2014.|454 p. ; 22 cm., overdrive:22d7ef7d-d2c5-45a5-92d9-3123553f33a4|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2013|, overdrive:ed80c86c-95d6-41ce-8ec6-be4095115d17|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:22d7ef7d-d2c5-45a5-92d9-3123553f33a4 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:ed80c86c-95d6-41ce-8ec6-be4095115d17 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000677595 FF00130127 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000419589 QQ00160462 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000419589 FF00078337 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000419589 35192042905004 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000419589 FF00083489 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000419589 B00540635 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet City and town life -- Kansas, City and town life -- Kansas -- Fiction, Death, Death -- Fiction, Kansas, Kansas -- Fiction, Murder, Murder -- Fiction, Science fiction, Science fiction, American
title_display The waking dark
title_full The Waking Dark, The waking dark / Robin Wasserman
title_short The waking dark
title_sub
topic_facet City and town life, Death, Horror, Murder, Science fiction, Science fiction, American, Thriller, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature