Flights and chimes and mysterious times

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,
Pub. Date:
2014.
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 5.4 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
810L
Description
In nineteenth-century England, a boy is about to discover a mysterious mechanical world he may never escape. Ten-year-old Jack Foster has stepped through a doorway and into quite a different London. Londinium is a smoky, dark, and dangerous place, home to mischievous metal fairies and fearsome clockwork dragons that breathe scalding steam. The people wear goggles to protect their eyes, brass grill insets in their nostrils to filter air, or mechanical limbs to replace missing ones. Over it all rules the Lady, and the Lady has demanded a new son--a perfect flesh-and-blood child. She has chosen Jack. His only hope of escape lies with a legendary clockwork bird. The Gearwing grants wishes--or it did, before it was broken--before it was killed. But some things don't stay dead forever. Fans of books like Splendors and Glooms and Goblin Secrets will find Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times irresistible!
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781442498778
144249879
9781442498792
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.4, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
810L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5b26c323-6566-b06c-052b-228fdfe3519f
Grouping Title flights and chimes and mysterious times
Grouping Author trevayne emma
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-19 23:18:15PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-20 00:22:41AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 10
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.4
author Trevayne, Emma.
author_display Trevayne, Emma
available_at_school Antioch Middle, Bellevue Middle, Croft Middle, Donelson Middle, Dupont Hadley Middle, Dupont Tyler Middle, East Nashville Magnet Middle, HG Hill Middle, Head Magnet Middle, IT Creswell Arts Middle, JFK Middle, JT Moore Middle, Jere Baxter Middle, John Early Middle, Litton Middle, MLK Jr. Magnet, McKissack Middle, McMurray Middle, Meigs Magnet Middle, Oliver Middle, Rose Park Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction, Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction, Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction, Croft Middle - Teen Fiction, Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction, Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction, Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction, East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction, Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction, Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction, Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction, J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction, J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction, Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction, John Early Middle - Teen Fiction, Litton Middle - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Madison Middle - Teen Fiction, McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction, McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction, Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction, Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction, Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description In nineteenth-century England, a boy is about to discover a mysterious mechanical world he may never escape. Ten-year-old Jack Foster has stepped through a doorway and into quite a different London. Londinium is a smoky, dark, and dangerous place, home to mischievous metal fairies and fearsome clockwork dragons that breathe scalding steam. The people wear goggles to protect their eyes, brass grill insets in their nostrils to filter air, or mechanical limbs to replace missing ones. Over it all rules the Lady, and the Lady has demanded a new son -- a perfect flesh-and-blood child. She has chosen Jack. His only hope of escape lies with a legendary clockwork bird. The Gearwing grants wishes -- or it did, before it was broken -- before it was killed. But some things don't stay dead forever. Fans of books like Splendors and Glooms and Goblin Secrets will find Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times irresistible! - Publisher.
format_category_school Books
format_school Book
id 5b26c323-6566-b06c-052b-228fdfe3519f
isbn 144249879, 9781442498778, 9781442498792
item_details ils:CARL0000437202|35192045996208|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Trevayn|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00736284|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00736369|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00736464|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00736651|Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||41111||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00736737|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00736832|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00736919|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00737016|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00737109|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00737193|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00737828|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00738046|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00738266|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00738580|McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4J535||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00739221|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00739484|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00739580|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4L545||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00739833|Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||4B355||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00740277|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|FAN F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00740477|Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4T675||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00740567|John Early Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||49285||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00740663|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4H498||, ils:CARL0000437202|B00740759|Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||43120||, ils:CARL0000437202|FF00089018|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F TRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||
itype_school Book
last_indexed 2018-09-20T05:22:41.44Z
lexile_score 810
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F TRE, FAN F TRE
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch Middle, Bellevue Middle, Croft Middle, Donelson Middle, Dupont Hadley Middle, Dupont Tyler Middle, East Nashville Magnet Middle, Goodlettsville Middle, HG Hill Middle, Head Magnet Middle, IT Creswell Arts Middle, JFK Middle, JT Moore Middle, Jere Baxter Middle, John Early Middle, Litton Middle, MLK Jr. Magnet, Madison Middle, McKissack Middle, McMurray Middle, Meigs Magnet Middle, Oliver Middle, Rose Park Middle
primary_isbn 9781442498778
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000437202|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,|2014.|307 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000437202 B00736284 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00739484 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00740477 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00738046 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00736832 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00737193 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00740567 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00740759 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00739580 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00738580 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00736464 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00736369 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00738266 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00737828 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00736651 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00736919 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00739833 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 FF00089018 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00737109 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00740663 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00736737 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 35192045996208 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000437202 B00737016 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00740277 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000437202 B00739221 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Alternative histories (Fiction), Fantasy fiction, Juvenile, Great Britain -- History -- Victoria, 1837-1901 -- Juvenile fiction, Imaginary places -- Juvenile fiction, Industrial revolution -- Juvenile fiction, Kidnapping -- Juvenile fiction, London (England) -- History -- 19th century -- Juvenile fiction, Magic -- Juvenile fiction, Steampunk culture -- Juvenile fiction, Steampunk fiction, Juvenile
title_display Flights and chimes and mysterious times
title_full Flights and chimes and mysterious times / Emma Trevayne ; illustrations by Glenn Thomas
title_short Flights and chimes and mysterious times
topic_facet Alternative histories (Fiction), Fantasy fiction, Juvenile, History, Imaginary places, Industrial revolution, Kidnapping, Magic, Steampunk culture, Steampunk fiction, Juvenile