Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

The sound of life and everything

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
G. P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA),
Pub. Date:
[2015]
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 9
Lexile measure:
750L
Description
A fascinating speculative historical fiction debut set in 1950s California--perfect for fans of When You Reach Me . Twelve-year-old Ella Mae Higbee is a sensible girl. She eats her vegetables and wants to be just like Sergeant Friday, her favorite character on Dragnet. So when her auntie Mildred starts spouting nonsense about a scientist who can bring her cousin back to life from blood on his dog tags, Ella Mae is skeptical--until he steps out of a bio-pod right before her eyes. But the boy is not her cousin--he's Japanese. And in California in the wake of World War II, the Japanese are still feared and despised. When her aunt refuses to take responsibility, Ella Mae and her Mama take him home instead. Determined to do what's right by her new friend, Ella Mae teaches Takuma English and defends him from the reverend's talk of H-E-double-toothpicks. But when his memories start to resurface, Ella Mae learns some shocking truths about her own family and more importantly, what it means to love.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399167751
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.1, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
750L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3e3a8875-dfdc-78e0-d58c-39fe5fad21ec
Grouping Title sound of life and everything
Grouping Author van dolzer krista
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-06-21 22:56:01PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 00:18:59AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 9
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.1
author Van Dolzer, Krista.
author_display Van Dolzer, Krista
available_at_school Bellevue Middle, Croft Middle, Donelson Middle, Dupont Hadley Middle, Dupont Tyler Middle, East Nashville Magnet Middle, Glendale Elementary, Goodlettsville Middle, Haynes Middle, Head Magnet Middle, IT Creswell Arts Middle, JFK Middle, JT Moore Middle, Jere Baxter Middle, John Early Middle, Litton Middle, Madison Middle, Margaret Allen Middle, Marshall Middle, McKissack Middle, McMurray Annex @ Tusculum, McMurray Middle, Meigs Magnet Middle, Oliver Middle, Rose Park Middle, Stratford STEM High, Two Rivers Middle, West End Middle, Wright Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction, Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction, Croft Middle - Teen Fiction, Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction, Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction, Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction, East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction, Glendale Elementary - Kids Fiction, Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction, Haynes Middle - Teen Fiction, Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction, J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction, J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction, Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction, John Early Middle - Teen Fiction, Litton Middle - Teen Fiction, Madison Middle - Teen Fiction, Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction, Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction, McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction, McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction, Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction, Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction, Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction, Stratford High - Teen Fiction, Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction, West End Middle - Teen Fiction, Wright Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description In 1950s California, grieving Mildred Clausen tries to have her son, who was killed in World War II, cloned but instead, a Japanese man emerges and her niece, Ella Mae, befriends him, in spite of the town's intense prejudice and her aunt's conviction that he is her son's killer.
format_category_school Books
format_school Book
id 3e3a8875-dfdc-78e0-d58c-39fe5fad21ec
isbn 9780399167751
item_details ils:CARL0000462126|35192047465194|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction VanDolz|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000462126|35192047465202|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction VanDolz|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00751028|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00751130|Rose Park Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4T675||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00751232|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00751331|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00751369|West End Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4V770||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00751471|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00752182|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00752283|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00752472|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00752573|J.T. Moore Middle - Teen Fiction|HIS F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4O563||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00752781|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00753019|Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4B355||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00753316|McMurray Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4K540||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00753426|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00753522|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|SCIFI F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00753745|McKissack Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4J535||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00753965|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00754074|Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4M551||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00754187|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00754299|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00754523|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00754636|Haynes Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4D400||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00756652|Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||40100||, ils:CARL0000462126|B00757175|Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||43120||, ils:CARL0000462126|QQ00213618|John Early Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||49285||, ils:CARL0000462126|TT00008557|Glendale Elementary - Kids Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||1M330||, ils:CARL0000462126|TT00009020|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4H498||, ils:CARL0000462126|TT00009255|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000462126|TT00009662|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|SCIFI F VAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||
itype_school Book
last_indexed 2018-07-20T05:18:59.057Z
lexile_score 750
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F VAN, HIS F VAN, SCIFI F VAN
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Bellevue Middle, Croft Middle, Donelson Middle, Dupont Hadley Middle, Dupont Tyler Middle, East Nashville Magnet Middle, Glendale Elementary, Goodlettsville Middle, Haynes Middle, Head Magnet Middle, IT Creswell Arts Middle, JFK Middle, JT Moore Middle, Jere Baxter Middle, John Early Middle, Litton Middle, Madison Middle, Margaret Allen Middle, Marshall Middle, McKissack Middle, McMurray Annex @ Tusculum, McMurray Middle, Meigs Magnet Middle, Oliver Middle, Rose Park Middle, Stratford STEM High, Two Rivers Middle, West End Middle, Wright Middle
primary_isbn 9780399167751
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000462126|Book|Books||English|G. P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA),|[2015]|266 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000462126 B00754074 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00754523 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00751331 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00751369 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00753019 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00752781 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00752283 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 TT00009020 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00753965 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 TT00009662 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00752182 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00751130 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00753522 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00753745 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00757175 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00752573 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 35192047465202 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000462126 B00754187 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00751232 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00751471 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00752472 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00754299 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 TT00009255 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 35192047465194 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000462126 TT00008557 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00754636 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00751028 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00756652 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00753426 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 QQ00213618 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000462126 B00753316 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet California -- History -- 20th century -- Juvenile fiction, Cloning -- Juvenile fiction, Families -- California -- Juvenile fiction, Japanese -- United States -- Juvenile fiction, Prejudices -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The sound of life and everything
title_full The sound of life and everything / Krista Van Dolzer
title_short The sound of life and everything
topic_facet Cloning, Families, History, Japanese, Prejudices