Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

A darkness strange and lovely: Something Strange and Deadly Series, Book 2

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 4.7 - AR Pts: 14
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 650L
Description

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Cassandra Clare's The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters--Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel--have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she'll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there's a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there's a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062083296
9780062083319
Reading Level:
UG
Level 4.7, 14 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 650L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3d2352d1-fd3d-3c60-91c7-8e815b4949fa
Grouping Title darkness strange and lovely
Grouping Author dennard susan
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-14 23:40:16PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-15 00:15:36AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 14
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.7
author Susan Dennard
author_display Dennard, Susan
available_at_school Antioch High, Cane Ridge High, Glencliff High, Hillwood High, MLK Jr. Magnet, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Stratford STEM High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction, Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Hillwood High - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, McGavock High - Teen Fiction, Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction, Overton High - Teen Fiction, Stratford High - Teen Fiction
display_description "Eleanor Fitt flees to Europe to seek the help of the Spirit-Hunters after a villain from her past resurfaces, only to find that, in Paris, there's a new kind of evil lurking"--
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id 3d2352d1-fd3d-3c60-91c7-8e815b4949fa
isbn 9780062083296, 9780062083319
item_details ils:CARL0000417491|35192042893234|Pruitt - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Dennard|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||PR||, ils:CARL0000417491|A02078492|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F DEN|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||6F615||, ils:CARL0000417491|B00540736|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F DEN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000417491|B00725068|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F DEN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000417491|B00730072|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F DEN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000417491|B00744532|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F DEN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000417491|FF00071508|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|HOR F DEN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000417491|QQ00156312|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F DEN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000417491|QQ00168431|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F DEN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000417491|QQ00181772|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F DEN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, overdrive:619d04fd-49e2-41ee-8884-bba87e957640|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-15T05:15:36.337Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 650
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F DEN, HOR F DEN
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High, Cane Ridge High, Glencliff High, Hillwood High, MLK Jr. Magnet, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Stratford STEM High
primary_isbn 9780062083296
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000417491|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Harper Teen,|c2013.|408 p. ; 22 cm., overdrive:619d04fd-49e2-41ee-8884-bba87e957640|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:619d04fd-49e2-41ee-8884-bba87e957640 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000417491 QQ00168431 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417491 B00730072 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417491 QQ00156312 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417491 B00744532 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417491 FF00071508 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417491 B00725068 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417491 35192042893234 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000417491 B00540736 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417491 QQ00181772 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417491 A02078492 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
series Something strange and deadly trilogy
series_with_volume Something strange and deadly trilogy|2
subject_facet Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, Dead -- Fiction, France -- History -- 19th century -- Fiction, Horror tales, American, Magic -- fiction, Paris (France) -- History -- 19th century -- Fiction, Zombies -- Fiction
title_display A darkness strange and lovely
title_full A Darkness Strange and Lovely Something Strange and Deadly Series, Book 2, A darkness strange and lovely / Susan Dennard
title_short A darkness strange and lovely
title_sub Something Strange and Deadly Series, Book 2
topic_facet Brothers and sisters, Dead, Historical Fiction, History, Horror tales, American, Magic, Romance, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Zombies