The innocent man: [murder and injustice in a small town]

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(4)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 8.1 - AR Pts: 20
Description
John Grisham's first work of nonfiction, an exploration of small town justice gone terribly awry, is his most extraordinary legal thriller yet. In the major league draft of 1971, the first player chosen from the State of Oklahoma was Ron Williamson. When he signed with the Oakland A's, he said goodbye to his hometown of Ada and left to pursue his dreams of big league glory. Six years later he was back, his dreams broken by a bad arm and bad habits--drinking, drugs, and women. He began to show signs of mental illness. Unable to keep a job, he moved in with his mother and slept twenty hours a day on her sofa. In 1982, a 21-year-old cocktail waitress in Ada named Debra Sue Carter was raped and murdered, and for five years the police could not solve the crime. For reasons that were never clear, they suspected Ron Williamson and his friend Dennis Fritz. The two were finally arrested in 1987 and charged with capital murder. With no physical evidence, the prosecution's case was built on junk science and the testimony of jailhouse snitches and convicts. Dennis Fritz was found guilty and given a life sentence. Ron Williamson was sent to death row. If you believe that in America you are innocent until proven guilty, this book will shock you. If you believe in the death penalty, this book will disturb you. If you believe the criminal justice system is fair, this book will infuriate you.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
Wasson, Craig. Narrator
ISBN:
9780385517232
9780739326732
9781598954104
9780440243830
9781415933077
9780739346853
9781598954395
9780307576019
Reading Level:
UG
Level 8.1, 20 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 31babd72-a22f-5c23-e20b-f1ecbba246ca
Grouping Title innocent man murder and injustice in a small town
Grouping Author grisham john
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-25 22:58:20PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-25 23:47:02PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 20
accelerated_reader_reading_level 8.1
auth_author2 Wasson, Craig.
author Grisham, John.
author2-role Wasson, Craig.|Narrator
author_display Grisham, John
available_at_school Whites Creek High
collection_school Non-Fiction
detailed_location_school Whites Creek High - Teen Non-Fiction
display_description

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham's first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it's a book no American can afford to miss.

In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson was going to be the next Mickey Mantle. But on his way to the Big Leagues, Ron stumbled, his dreams broken by drinking, drugs, and women. Then, on a winter night in 1982, not far from Ron's home, a young cocktail waitress named Debra Sue Carter was savagely murdered. The investigation led nowhere. Until, on the flimsiest evidence, it led to Ron Williamson. The washed-up small-town hero was charged, tried, and sentenced to death—in a trial littered with lying witnesses and tainted evidence that would shatter a man's already broken life, and let a true killer go free.

Praise for The Innocent Man

"Grisham has written both an American tragedy and his strongest legal thriller yet, all the more gripping because it happens to be true."Entertainment Weekly

"Grisham has crafted a legal thriller every bit as suspenseful and fast-paced as his bestselling fiction."The Boston Globe

"A gritty, harrowing true-crime story."Time

"A triumph."—The Seattle Times
BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from John Grisham's The Litigators.

format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, CD audio book, Large Print, Playaway, eAudiobook, eBook
id 31babd72-a22f-5c23-e20b-f1ecbba246ca
isbn 9780307576019, 9780385517232, 9780440243830, 9780739326732, 9780739346853, 9781415933077, 9781598954104, 9781598954395
item_details ils:CARL0000271476|35192034941280|Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction|345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000271476|35192034947196|Donelson - Adult Non-Fiction|345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000271476|35192034947220|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000271476|35192034947261|Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction|345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000271476|35192034947329|Old Hickory - Adult Non-Fiction|345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||OH||, ils:CARL0000271476|35192034947352|Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction|345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000271476|35192034947386|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000271476|35192036212318|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000271476|35192038527242|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000271476|35192050382658|Bellevue - Adult Non-Fiction|345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000271476|QQ00128351|Whites Creek High - Teen Non-Fiction|345.76 GRI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000271485|35192035301138|Green Hills - Adult Large Print|345.766 G8695im Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000271485|35192035301195|Edgehill - Adult Large Print|345.766 G8695im Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EH||, ils:CARL0000277026|35192035056310|Thompson Lane - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO 345.766 G8695iU|||1|false|false|||||In Transit||TL||, ils:CARL0000277026|35192035056336|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO 345.766 G8695iU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000277550|35192043962426|Donelson - Adult Audiobook|PLAYAWAY 345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000277550|35192043962434|Richland Park - Adult Audiobook|PLAYAWAY 345.766 G8695i|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, overdrive:32f2ab7b-333e-40bb-b8cc-bb8eabf59f02|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|3|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:55a4048d-70c8-4282-8148-fbe75a57dd6e|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_school , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book, Playaway
last_indexed 2018-09-26T04:47:02.696Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_school 345.76 GRI
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Whites Creek High
primary_isbn 9780385517232
publishDate 2006, 2010
record_details ils:CARL0000271476|Book|Books||English|Doubleday,|c2006.|360 p. : ill. ; 25 cm., ils:CARL0000271485|Large Print|Books|1st large print ed.|English|Random House Large Print,|2006.|563 p. (large print) : ill. ; 25 cm., ils:CARL0000277026|CD audio book|Audio Books|Library ed.|English|Books on Tape,|p2006.|10 sound discs (ca. 75 min. each) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000277550|Playaway|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Findaway World,|[2006]|1 sound media player (12 hr. 30 min.) : digital ; 9 x 6 cm., overdrive:32f2ab7b-333e-40bb-b8cc-bb8eabf59f02|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2010|, overdrive:55a4048d-70c8-4282-8148-fbe75a57dd6e|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2006|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000271485 35192035301138 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000271485 35192035301195 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000277550 35192043962426 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000277550 35192043962434 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
overdrive:55a4048d-70c8-4282-8148-fbe75a57dd6e -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000277026 35192035056310 In Transit In Transit false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000277026 35192035056336 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
overdrive:32f2ab7b-333e-40bb-b8cc-bb8eabf59f02 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000271476 35192034941280 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000271476 35192034947196 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000271476 35192038527242 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000271476 35192034947220 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000271476 35192036212318 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000271476 35192050382658 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000271476 35192034947329 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000271476 QQ00128351 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000271476 35192034947261 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000271476 35192034947352 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000271476 35192034947386 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
subject_facet Capital punishment -- Oklahoma, Judicial error -- Oklahoma, Large type books, Trials (Murder) -- Oklahoma, Williamson, Ronald Keith, -- 1953-2004 -- Trials, litigation, etc
title_display The innocent man : murder and injustice in a small town
title_full The Innocent Man Murder and Injustice in a Small Town, The innocent man : murder and injustice in a small town / John Grisham, The innocent man [sound recording] / John Grisham, The innocent man [sound recording] : [murder and injustice in a small town] / John Grisham, The innocent man [text (large print)] : murder and injustice in a small town / by John Grisham
title_short The innocent man :
title_sub [murder and injustice in a small town]
topic_facet Capital punishment, Judicial error, Large type books, Law, Nonfiction, Sociology, Trials (Murder), Trials, litigation, etc, True Crime, Williamson, Ronald Keith