A good American

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Unabridged, 10 CDs, 12 1/2 hours

Read by TBA

For fans of Water for Elephants and Major Pettigrew's Last Stand --an uplifting novel about the families we create and the places we call home.

.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780399158513
9780399157592
039915759
9781410446282
9781101978832
9781611760385
141044628
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 242ae9bd-aeb1-4f92-9cc4-9a2e14a8de5b
Grouping Title good american
Grouping Author george alex
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-01-18 22:45:10PM
Last Indexed 2019-01-19 01:26:10AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Frazier, Gibson.
author Alex George
author2-role Frazier, Gibson.
author_display Alex George
available_at_school Antioch High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction
display_description "A beautifully written novel, laced with history and music." —Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven
Library Journal Best Book of the Year
A Bookpage Best Book of the Year

"Everything he'd seen had been unimaginably different from the dry, dour streets of home, and to his surprise he was not sorry in the slightest. He was smitten by the beguiling otherness of it all.

And so began my grandfather's rapturous love affair with America—an affair that would continue until the day he died."—A Good American

This is the story of the Meisenheimer family, told by James, a third-generation American living in Beatrice, Missouri. It's where his German grandparents—Frederick and Jette—found themselves after journeying across the turbulent Atlantic, fording the flood-swollen Mississippi, and being brought to a sudden halt by the broken water of the pregnant Jette.

A Good American tells of Jette's dogged determination to feed a town sauerkraut and soul food; the loves and losses of her children, Joseph and Rosa; and the precocious voices of James and his brothers, sometimes raised in discord...sometimes in perfect harmony.

But above all, A Good American is about the music in Frederick's heart, a song that began as an aria, was jazzed by ragtime, and became an anthem of love for his adopted country that the family still hears to this day.

format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, CD audio book, Large Print, eAudiobook
id 242ae9bd-aeb1-4f92-9cc4-9a2e14a8de5b
isbn 039915759, 141044628, 9780399157592, 9780399158513, 9781101978832, 9781410446282, 9781611760385
item_details ils:CARL0000381426|35192042360176|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000381426|35192042360200|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000381426|FF00085897|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F GEO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000383510|35192042385256|Goodlettsville - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000383510|35192042385272|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000387990|35192042396493|Bellevue - Adult Large Print|Fiction George Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000387990|35192042396501|Hermitage - Adult Large Print|Fiction George Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000387990|35192042396519|Green Hills - Adult Large Print|Fiction George Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, overdrive:0386e833-c00e-4154-8422-94771ddccf3f|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2019-01-19T07:26:10.157Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F GEO
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High
primary_isbn 9780399158513
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:CARL0000381426|Book|Books||English|Amy Einhorn Books,|c2012.|387 p. ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000383510|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Penguin Group USA,|[2012]|10 sound discs (12 1/2 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000387990|Large Print|Books|Large print ed.|English|Thorndike Press,|2012.|613 p. (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:0386e833-c00e-4154-8422-94771ddccf3f|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Books on Tape||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000383510 35192042385272 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000383510 35192042385256 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000381426 35192042360200 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000381426 FF00085897 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000381426 35192042360176 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000387990 35192042396519 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000387990 35192042396493 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000387990 35192042396501 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
overdrive:0386e833-c00e-4154-8422-94771ddccf3f -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Thorndike Press large print basic
series_with_volume Thorndike Press large print basic|
subject_facet Adventure stories, English, Audiobooks, Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, German Americans -- Fiction, Immigrant families -- United States -- Fiction, Large type books, New Orleans (La.) -- Emigration and immigration -- Fiction, United States -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- Fiction
title_display A good American
title_full A Good American, A good American / Alex George, A good American [sound recording] / by Alex George, A good American [text (large print)] / by Alex George
title_short A good American
title_sub
topic_facet Adventure stories, English, Audiobooks, Brothers and sisters, Emigration and immigration, Fiction, German Americans, Immigrant families, Large type books, Literature, Social life and customs