A good American

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

Unabridged, 10 CDs, 12 1/2 hours

Read by TBA

For fans of Water for Elephants and Major Pettigrew's Last Stand --an uplifting novel about the families we create and the places we call home.

.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780399158513
9780399157592
039915759
9781410446282
9781101978832
9781611760385
141044628
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 242ae9bd-aeb1-4f92-9cc4-9a2e14a8de5b
Grouping Title good american
Grouping Author george alex
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-14 00:19:20AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-13 01:29:26AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Frazier, Gibson.
author Alex George
author2-role Frazier, Gibson.
author_display Alex George
available_at_school Antioch High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction
display_description "A beautifully written novel, laced with history and music." —Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven
An uplifting novel about the families we create and the places we call home.

It is 1904. When Frederick and Jette must flee her disapproving mother, where better to go than America, the land of the new? Originally set to board a boat to New York, at the last minute, they take one destined for New Orleans instead ("What's the difference? They're both new"), and later find themselves, more by chance than by design, in the small town of Beatrice, Missouri. Not speaking a word of English, they embark on their new life together.

Beatrice is populated with unforgettable characters: a jazz trumpeter from the Big Easy who cooks a mean gumbo, a teenage boy trapped in the body of a giant, a pretty schoolteacher who helps the young men in town learn about a lot more than just music, a minister who believes he has witnessed the Second Coming of Christ, and a malevolent, bicycle-riding dwarf.

A Good American is narrated by Frederick and Jette's grandson, James, who, in telling his ancestors' story, comes to realize he doesn't know his own story at all. From bare-knuckle prizefighting and Prohibition to sweet barbershop harmonies, the Kennedy assassination, and beyond, James's family is caught up in the sweep of history. Each new generation discovers afresh what it means to be an American. And, in the process, Frederick and Jette's progeny sometimes discover more about themselves than they had bargained for.

Poignant, funny, and heartbreaking, A Good American is a novel about being an outsider-in your country, in your hometown, and sometimes even in your own family. It is a universal story about our search for home.

format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, CD audio book, Large Print, eAudiobook
id 242ae9bd-aeb1-4f92-9cc4-9a2e14a8de5b
isbn 039915759, 141044628, 9780399157592, 9780399158513, 9781101978832, 9781410446282, 9781611760385
item_details ils:CARL0000381426|35192042360176|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000381426|35192042360200|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000381426|FF00085897|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F GEO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000383510|35192042385256|Goodlettsville - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GO||, ils:CARL0000383510|35192042385272|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction George|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000387990|35192042396493|Bellevue - Adult Large Print|Fiction George Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000387990|35192042396501|Hermitage - Adult Large Print|Fiction George Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000387990|35192042396519|Green Hills - Adult Large Print|Fiction George Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, overdrive:0386e833-c00e-4154-8422-94771ddccf3f|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_school , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2018-11-13T07:29:26.152Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F GEO
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High
primary_isbn 9780399158513
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:CARL0000381426|Book|Books||English|Amy Einhorn Books,|c2012.|387 p. ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000383510|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Penguin Group USA,|[2012]|10 sound discs (12 1/2 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000387990|Large Print|Books|Large print ed.|English|Thorndike Press,|2012.|613 p. (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:0386e833-c00e-4154-8422-94771ddccf3f|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000383510 35192042385272 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000383510 35192042385256 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000381426 35192042360176 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000381426 35192042360200 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000381426 FF00085897 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000387990 35192042396501 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000387990 35192042396493 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000387990 35192042396519 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
overdrive:0386e833-c00e-4154-8422-94771ddccf3f -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
series Thorndike Press large print basic
series_with_volume Thorndike Press large print basic|
subject_facet Adventure stories, English, Audiobooks, Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, German Americans -- Fiction, Immigrant families -- United States -- Fiction, Large type books, New Orleans (La.) -- Emigration and immigration -- Fiction, United States -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- Fiction
title_display A good American
title_full A Good American, A good American / Alex George, A good American [sound recording] / by Alex George, A good American [text (large print)] / by Alex George
title_short A good American
title_sub
topic_facet Adventure stories, English, Audiobooks, Brothers and sisters, Emigration and immigration, Fiction, German Americans, Immigrant families, Large type books, Literature, Social life and customs