Nobody's There

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Pub. Date:
2012
Language:
English
Description
A game of private detective turns deadly for an unlikely sleuth combo. How did Abbie Thompson end up a sidekick to Edna Merkel, Senior Citizen Pseudo-Sleuth? It all started when Abbie was so furious at her father for breaking up their family that she acted without thinking and was arrested for malicious mischief. The judge decided to give Abbie a chance at a clean record and arranged for her to volunteer in a program in which teens are matched with the elderly. Abbie's "friend," Mrs. Merkel, is a cranky, difficult woman who's a member of the Buckler's Bloodhounds. The Bloodhounds provide the police with information about scams or frauds in the community. But Edna Merkel is too active a member, and after she brags that she's on to something big, she's attacked and ends up hospitalized. Suddenly the private investigator game is real and, with the help of Mrs. Merkel's indecipherable notebook, only Abbie can figure out who did it. But will Abbie get to the assailant before the assailant gets to her?
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780307823434
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 21386c82-0cea-b145-0afb-8c82f50da8cb
Grouping Title nobody s there
Grouping Author nixon joan lowery
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-09-17 22:46:12PM
Last Indexed 2019-09-16 23:50:33PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Joan Lowery Nixon
author_display Joan Lowery Nixon
display_description

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Nobody's There from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.

Furious at her father for breaking up their family, Abbie Thompson acted without thinking and got arrested for malicious mischief. Now the judge has assigned her to volunteer in a program that matches teens with the elderly. But Abbie doesn't get just any elderly person. She gets Edna Merkel, a cranky, difficult woman who's a member of the town's crime prevention group. In fact, Mrs. Merkel is too active a member, and after she brags that she's on to something big, she is attacked and ends up hospitalized. Suddenly the private investigator game is real, and only Abbie--with the help of Mrs. Merkel's indecipherable notebook--can figure out who did it. But will Abbie get to the assailant before the assailant gets to her?

"Fast-paced and involving." --Kirkus Reviews

"Well drawn and distinct...Nixon's fans will no doubt enjoy." --School Library Journal

"Another great mystery." --VOYA

format_category_school eBook
format_school eBook
id 21386c82-0cea-b145-0afb-8c82f50da8cb
isbn 9780307823434
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:7ac81efd-cd5c-4352-9e3a-b10480784625 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
itype_school
last_indexed 2019-09-17T04:50:33.009Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
primary_isbn 9780307823434
publishDate 2012
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:7ac81efd-cd5c-4352-9e3a-b10480784625 eBook eBook English Random House Children's Books 2012
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:7ac81efd-cd5c-4352-9e3a-b10480784625 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
title_display Nobody's There
title_full Nobody's There
title_short Nobody's There
title_sub
topic_facet Mystery
Young Adult Fiction