Beast

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 610L
Description
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year A Rainbow Book List selection A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching reimagining of Beauty and the Beast that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan. Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn't look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg--and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy--until he meets Jamie. She's funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She's also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie's humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn't know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn't listening. Something that shouldn't change a thing. She is who she's always been--an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way? Praise for Beast: "Writing smartly in Dylan's voice, Spangler artfully represents both main characters: the boy who feels like a freak and the witty, imperfect, wise trans girl he loves. Very lightly borrowing on the classic fairy tale, she allows them to fail and succeed without resorting to paper villains or violent plot points to manipulate compassion. A believable and beautiful human story." -- Kirkus Reviews, Starred review "Spangler's captivating portrayals of Dylan and Jamie offer piercing insight into the long, painful battle to shatter stereotypes in order to win dignity, love, and acceptance." -- Publishers Weekly, Starred review
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781101937181
9781101937174
9781101937167
9781504746144
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 610L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 1accbf35-415f-dbc3-1063-6073b728b611
Grouping Title beast
Grouping Author spangler brie
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-15 22:45:21PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-15 23:52:34PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Brie Spangler
author_display Brie Spangler
available_at_school Antioch High, Cameron College Prep, Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Hillwood High, LEAD Academy High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Stratford STEM High, Whites Creek High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction, Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction, Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Hillwood High - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Maplewood High - Teen Fiction, McGavock High - Teen Fiction, Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction, Overton High - Teen Fiction, Stratford High - Teen Fiction, Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction
display_description After falling off the roof, fifteen-year-old misfit Dylan must attend a therapy group for self-harmers where he meets Jamie, a beautiful and amazing person he does not know is transgender.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id 1accbf35-415f-dbc3-1063-6073b728b611
isbn 9781101937167, 9781101937174, 9781101937181, 9781504746144
item_details ils:CARL0000495041|35192049014172|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Spangle|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000495041|35192049014180|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Spangle|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000495041|35192049014198|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Spangle|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000495041|35192049014206|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Spangle|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000495041|35192049014214|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Spangle|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00766478|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00766618|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00766759|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00766901|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00767193|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00767691|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00767827|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00768207|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||64325||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00768646|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00769559|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00770669|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000495041|B00770948|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000495041|QQ00246770|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F SPA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, overdrive:0407531f-c1ac-4e8f-be4b-067ec380699e|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:df70204c-d4c7-4337-be87-71ee4cab36db|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-16T05:52:34.09Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 610
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F SPA
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High, Cameron College Prep, Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Glencliff High, Hillwood High, LEAD Academy High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Stratford STEM High, Whites Creek High
primary_isbn 9781101937181
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000495041|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|[2016]|330 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:0407531f-c1ac-4e8f-be4b-067ec380699e|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2016|, overdrive:df70204c-d4c7-4337-be87-71ee4cab36db|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Publishing|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000495041 B00766759 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 B00767827 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 B00766901 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 35192049014214 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000495041 35192049014180 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000495041 B00768646 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 35192049014172 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000495041 B00767691 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 B00766618 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 B00770948 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 B00767193 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 B00766478 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 B00768207 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 B00769559 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 35192049014206 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000495041 35192049014198 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000495041 B00770669 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000495041 QQ00246770 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:df70204c-d4c7-4337-be87-71ee4cab36db -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:0407531f-c1ac-4e8f-be4b-067ec380699e -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet Dating (Social customs) -- Fiction, Interpersonal relations -- Fiction, Self-help groups -- Fiction, Transgender people -- Fiction
title_display Beast
title_full Beast, Beast / Brie Spangler
title_short Beast
title_sub
topic_facet Dating (Social customs), Humor (Fiction), Interpersonal relations, Romance, Self-help groups, Transgender people, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature