The stranger in the woods: the extraordinary story of the last true hermit

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(5)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
Many people dream of escaping modern life, but most will never act on it. This is the remarkable true story of a man who lived alone in the woods of Maine for 27 years, making this dream a reality--not out of anger at the world, but simply because he preferred to live on his own. A New York Times bestseller In 1986, a shy and intelligent twenty-year-old named Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the forest. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later, when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even through brutal winters, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store edibles and water, and to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothing, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of his secluded life--why did he leave? what did he learn?--as well as the challenges he has faced since returning to the world. It is a gripping story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781101875681
9781101924938
9781101875698
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 16550922-60c7-6b91-f104-0237b94c2cbc
Grouping Title stranger in the woods the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
Grouping Author finkel michael
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-15 23:15:01PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-16 02:38:19AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Michael Finkel
author_display Finkel, Michael
available_at_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
collection_school Biography
detailed_location_school Hillsboro High - Teen Biography
Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Biography
display_description "For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.
format_category_school Audio Books
Books
eBook
format_school Book
eAudiobook
eBook
id 16550922-60c7-6b91-f104-0237b94c2cbc
isbn 9781101875681
9781101875698
9781101924938
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:c28e9d75-6a09-4956-b495-4420ee845a3b -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 7 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
overdrive:4e0c56e4-24ab-44bb-ae99-5700af594c1a -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 6 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720034 Main Library - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false In Transit for Hold MN
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421682 Southeast - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf SE
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421658 Green Hills - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049719994 Green Hills - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000504050 QQ00351084 Hillsboro High - Teen Biography B KNI FIN 1 false false In Processing 66435
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421641 Edmondson Pike - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421666 Hermitage - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049369576 Inglewood - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false Checked Out IN
ils:CARL0000504050 QQ00264617 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Biography B FIN KNI 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421633 East - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf EA
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421674 Richland Park - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false Checked Out RP
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049719986 Edmondson Pike - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720018 Hermitage - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000504050 A02107523 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Biography B Fin 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049719978 Bellevue - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false Checked Out BL
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049508942 Thompson Lane - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf TL
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421625 Bellevue - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049369568 Donelson - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf DO
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720000 Goodlettsville - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf GO
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720026 Madison - Adult Biography B K694f 1 false false On Shelf MA
itype_school
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-16T07:38:19.91Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_school B FIN KNI
B Fin
B KNI FIN
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Hillsboro High
Hume-Fogg Magnet High
primary_isbn 9781101875681
publishDate 2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:c28e9d75-6a09-4956-b495-4420ee845a3b eBook eBook English Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2017
overdrive:4e0c56e4-24ab-44bb-ae99-5700af594c1a eAudiobook Audio Books English Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2017
ils:CARL0000504050 Book Books First edition. English Alfred A. Knopf, 2017. 203 pages : map, illustrations ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c28e9d75-6a09-4956-b495-4420ee845a3b -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:4e0c56e4-24ab-44bb-ae99-5700af594c1a -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720034 Checked Out In Transit for Hold false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421682 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421658 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049719994 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 QQ00351084 On Order In Processing false false false false false true
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421641 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421666 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049369576 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 QQ00264617 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421633 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421674 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049719986 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720018 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 A02107523 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049719978 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049508942 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421625 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049369568 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720000 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720026 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
subject_facet Biographies
Hermits -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography
Knight, Christopher Thomas, -- 1965-
Recluses -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography
Smithfield Region (Me.) -- Biography
Solitude -- Case studies
Survival -- Case studies
Thieves -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography
title_display The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
title_full The Stranger in the Woods The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit
The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit / Michael Finkel
title_short The stranger in the woods :
title_sub the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
topic_facet Biography & Autobiography
Hermits
Knight, Christopher Thomas
Nature
Nonfiction
Recluses
Solitude
Survival
Thieves
Travel