Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

The stranger in the woods: the extraordinary story of the last true hermit

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
Many people dream of escaping modern life, but most will never act on it. This is the remarkable true story of a man who lived alone in the woods of Maine for 27 years, making this dream a reality--not out of anger at the world, but simply because he preferred to live on his own. A New York Times bestseller In 1986, a shy and intelligent twenty-year-old named Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the forest. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later, when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even through brutal winters, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store edibles and water, and to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothing, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of his secluded life--why did he leave? what did he learn?--as well as the challenges he has faced since returning to the world. It is a gripping story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781101875681
9781101924938
9781101875698
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 16550922-60c7-6b91-f104-0237b94c2cbc
Grouping Title stranger in the woods the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
Grouping Author finkel michael
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-21 23:42:50PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-21 15:37:07PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Michael Finkel
author_display Finkel, Michael
available_at_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
collection_school Biography
detailed_location_school Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Biography
display_description "For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id 16550922-60c7-6b91-f104-0237b94c2cbc
isbn 9781101875681, 9781101875698, 9781101924938
item_details ils:CARL0000504050|35192049369568|Donelson - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049369576|Inglewood - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049421625|Bellevue - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049421633|East - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||In Transit for Hold||EA||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049421658|Green Hills - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049421666|Hermitage - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049421674|Richland Park - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049421682|Southeast - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049508942|Thompson Lane - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||TL||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049719978|Bellevue - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049719994|Green Hills - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049720000|Goodlettsville - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049720018|Hermitage - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000504050|35192049720034|Main Library - Adult Biography|B K694f|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000504050|A02107523|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Biography|B Fin|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000504050|QQ00264617|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Biography|B FIN KNI|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, overdrive:4e0c56e4-24ab-44bb-ae99-5700af594c1a|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|6|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:c28e9d75-6a09-4956-b495-4420ee845a3b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|7|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-21T20:37:07.657Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_school B FIN KNI, B Fin
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
primary_isbn 9781101875681
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000504050|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|2017.|203 pages : map, illustrations ; 22 cm., overdrive:4e0c56e4-24ab-44bb-ae99-5700af594c1a|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2017|, overdrive:c28e9d75-6a09-4956-b495-4420ee845a3b|eBook|eBook||English|Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c28e9d75-6a09-4956-b495-4420ee845a3b -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:4e0c56e4-24ab-44bb-ae99-5700af594c1a -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421625 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049719978 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049719994 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 A02107523 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049369568 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720000 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421674 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421682 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421633 Currently Unavailable In Transit for Hold false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720034 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 QQ00264617 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049369576 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049508942 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421658 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049421666 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000504050 35192049720018 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
subject_facet Biographies, Hermits -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography, Knight, Christopher Thomas, -- 1965-, Recluses -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography, Smithfield Region (Me.) -- Biography, Solitude -- Case studies, Survival -- Case studies, Thieves -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography
title_display The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
title_full The Stranger in the Woods The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit, The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit / Michael Finkel
title_short The stranger in the woods :
title_sub the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
topic_facet Biography & Autobiography, Hermits, Knight, Christopher Thomas, Nature, Nonfiction, Recluses, Solitude, Survival, Thieves, Travel