Console wars: Sega, Nintendo, and the battle that defined a generation

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014.
Language:
English
Description

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: NPR, Slate, Publishers Weekly, Goodreads

Following the success of The Accidental Billionaires and Moneyball comes Console Wars--a mesmerizing, behind-the-scenes business thriller that chronicles how Sega, a small, scrappy gaming company led by an unlikely visionary and a team of rebels, took on the juggernaut Nintendo and revolutionized the video game industry.

In 1990, Nintendo had a virtual monopoly on the video game industry. Sega, on the other hand, was just a faltering arcade company with big aspirations and even bigger personalities. But that would all change with the arrival of Tom Kalinske, a man who knew nothing about videogames and everything about fighting uphill battles. His unconventional tactics, combined with the blood, sweat and bold ideas of his renegade employees, transformed Sega and eventually led to a ruthless David-and-Goliath showdown with rival Nintendo.

The battle was vicious, relentless, and highly profitable, eventually sparking a global corporate war that would be fought on several fronts: from living rooms and schoolyards to boardrooms and Congress. It was a once-in-a-lifetime, no-holds-barred conflict that pitted brother against brother, kid against adult, Sonic against Mario, and the US against Japan.

Based on over two hundred interviews with former Sega and Nintendo employees, Console Wars is the underdog tale of how Kalinske miraculously turned an industry punchline into a market leader. It's the story of how a humble family man, with an extraordinary imagination and a gift for turning problems into competitive advantages, inspired a team of underdogs to slay a giant and, as a result, birth a $60 billion dollar industry.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062276704
9780062309129
9780062276698
9780062276711
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 15006a87-1e53-881e-19ab-cbdb3d4f30f6
Grouping Title console wars sega nintendo and the battle that defined a generation
Grouping Author harris blake j
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-12 23:00:03PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-13 00:04:28AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Blake J. Harris
author_display Harris, Blake J
available_at_school Antioch High, East Nashville Magnet High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High
collection_school Non-Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Non-Fiction, East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Non-Fiction, Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction
display_description "A mesmerizing, behind-the-scenes business thriller that chronicles how Sega, a small, scrappy gaming company led by an unlikely visionary and a team of rebels, took on the juggernaut Nintendo and revolutionized the videogame industry--in development as a feature film from Sony PicturesIn 1990, Nintendo had a virtual monopoly on the videogame industry. Sega, on the other hand, was just a faltering arcade company with big aspirations and even bigger personalities. But all that would change with the arrival of Tom Kalinske, a former Mattel executive who knew nothing about videogames and everything about fighting uphill battles. His unconventional tactics, combined with the blood, sweat, and bold ideas of his renegade employees, completely transformed Sega and led to a ruthless, David-and-Goliath showdown with Nintendo. Little did he realize that Sega's success would create many new enemies and, most important, make Nintendo stronger than ever.The battle was vicious, relentless, and highly profitable, eventually sparking a global corporate war that would be fought on several fronts: from living rooms and school yards to boardrooms and Congress. It was a once-in-a-lifetime, no-holds-barred conflict that pitted brother against brother, kid against adult, Sonic against Mario, and the United States against Japan.Based on more than two hundred interviews with former Sega and Nintendo employees, Console Wars is the tale of how Tom Kalinske miraculously turned an industry punch line into a market leader. Blake J. Harris brings into focus the warriors, the strategies, and the battles and explores how they transformed popular culture forever. Ultimately, Console Wars is the story of how a humble family man, with an extraordinary imagination and a gift for turning problems into competitive advantages, inspired a team of underdogs to slay a giant and, as a result, give birth to a sixty-billion-dollar industry"-- "In the tradition of The Accidental Billionaires and Moneyball, a behind-the-scenes business thriller about how the small, scrappy Sega, led by one unlikely visionary, took on the juggernaut Nintendo and changed the face of entertainment"--
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id 15006a87-1e53-881e-19ab-cbdb3d4f30f6
isbn 9780062276698, 9780062276704, 9780062276711, 9780062309129
item_details ils:CARL0000439871|35192045892860|Inglewood - Adult Non-Fiction|338.761794 H3133c|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||IN||, ils:CARL0000439871|35192046201947|Edgehill - Adult Non-Fiction|338.761794 H3133c|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EH||, ils:CARL0000439871|B00740356|Antioch High - Teen Non-Fiction|338.76 HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000439871|QQ00186719|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Non-Fiction|338.76 HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000439871|QQ00206937|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction|338.76 HAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, overdrive:741ec2db-60aa-4424-a2b3-87b3568f95da|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:91028d70-fed2-4e2d-a204-0a66032af6c2|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-13T06:04:28.057Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_school 338.76 HAR
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High, East Nashville Magnet High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High
primary_isbn 9780062276704
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000439871|Book|Books|First edition.|English|It Books,|2014.|xv, 558 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : color illustrations ; 24 cm., overdrive:741ec2db-60aa-4424-a2b3-87b3568f95da|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2014|, overdrive:91028d70-fed2-4e2d-a204-0a66032af6c2|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000439871 35192046201947 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000439871 QQ00206937 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000439871 35192045892860 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000439871 QQ00186719 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000439871 B00740356 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:741ec2db-60aa-4424-a2b3-87b3568f95da -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:91028d70-fed2-4e2d-a204-0a66032af6c2 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Electronic games industry -- History, Nintendō Kabushiki Kaisha, SEGA Entāpuraizesu, Video games -- History, Video games industry -- History
title_display Console wars : Sega, Nintendo, and the battle that defined a generation
title_full Console Wars Sega, Nintendo, and the Battle That Defined a Generation, Console Wars Sega, Nintendo, and the Battle that Defined a Generation, Console wars : Sega, Nintendo, and the battle that defined a generation / Blake J. Harris ; foreword by Seth Rogen & Evan Goldberg
title_short Console wars :
title_sub Sega, Nintendo, and the battle that defined a generation
topic_facet Business, Economics, Electronic games industry, Entertainment, Games, History, Nonfiction, Video games, Video games industry