A clatter of jars

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 5.3 - AR Pts: 6
Lexile measure:
800L
Description
One of the finest novelists of her generation, National Book Award nominee Lisa Graff returns readers to the world of A Tangle of Knots , where a camp for Talented kids just might be a recipe for disaster. In this magical companion to the National Book Award nominee A Tangle of Knots , it's summertime and everyone is heading off to camp. For Talented kids, the place to be is Camp Atropos, where they can sing songs by the campfire, practice for the Talent show, and take some nice long dips in the lake. But what the kids don't know is that they've been gathered for a reason--one that the camp's director wants to keep hidden at all costs. Meanwhile, a Talent jar that has been dropped to the bottom of the lake has sprung a leak, and strange things have begun to happen. Dozens of seemingly empty jars have been washing up on the shoreline, Talents have been swapped, and memories have been ripped from one camper's head and placed into another. And no one knows why. With a camp full of kids, a lake full of magic, and a grown-up full of a secrets, A Clatter of Jars is story of summer, family, and the lengths we go to win back the people we love. Perfect for readers who loved Katherine Paterson's The Great Gilly Hopkins or Louis Sachar's Holes . Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: A Clatter of Jars: "Graff is a master of the magical realism genre, and this offering is worthy of a spot in any middle grade collection."--School Library Journal "Graff's vivid character development and world building makes for tight plotting and nicely negotiable complexity. A great fit for fans of Louis Sachar's Holes ."--Booklist "Graff's prose and plot construction is as pleasing as ever, and A Clatter of Jars will appeal to a wide range of readers."--Bookpage A Tangle of Knots "Lisa Graff has created a beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories that draw you in."--Abby West, Entertainment Weekly, A- * "Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights."--Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * "Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, Graff has written a tangle that should satisfy readers for years to come."--Booklist *STARRED REVIEW* Lost in the Sun * "Graff writes with stunning insight [and] consistently demonstrates why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."--Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW* * "Graff creates layered, vulnerable characters that are worth getting to know."--Booklist *STARRED REVIEW* * "[A]n ambitious and gracefully executed story."--Publishers Weekly *STARRED REVIEW* * "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace will give this book wide appeal."--School Library Journal *STARRED REVIEW* * "Characterization is thoughtful."--BCCB *STARRED REVIEW* "This is a novel that speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and our human redemption. This book will change you."--Gary Schmidt, author of The Wednesday Wars "Lisa Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy and the world of people he cares about. And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."--Richard Peck, author of A Year Down Yonder
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399174995
9780451485915
9780698195929
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.3, 6 Points
Lexile measure:
800L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 113d736c-4d6c-85fb-ae75-93ea421ca5e0
Grouping Title clatter of jars
Grouping Author graff lisa
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-20 22:48:45PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-21 00:13:46AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 6
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.3
author Lisa Graff
author_display Graff, Lisa
available_at_school Bellevue Middle, Croft Middle, Donelson Middle, HG Hill Middle, Hickman Elementary, Two Rivers Middle, Wright Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction, Croft Middle - Teen Fiction, Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction, Hickman Elementary - Kids Fiction, Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction, Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction, Wright Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description "Children with magical Talents attend a summer camp, where nothing is what it seems."--
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id 113d736c-4d6c-85fb-ae75-93ea421ca5e0
isbn 9780399174995, 9780451485915, 9780698195929
item_details ils:CARL0000486377|35192048601995|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Graff|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000486377|35192048602001|Donelson - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Graff|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000486377|35192048602019|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Graff|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000486377|35192048602027|Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Graff|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000486377|35192048602035|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Graff|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000486377|35192048602043|Southeast - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Graff|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, ils:CARL0000486377|A02134223|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F Gra|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000486377|FF00126443|Hickman Elementary - Kids Fiction|F GRA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||1Y420||, ils:CARL0000486377|MK10195771|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F Gra|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000486377|TT00009458|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F GRA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, ils:CARL0000486377|TT00010805|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F GRA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000486377|TT00010967|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|FANT F GRA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000486377|TT0010565|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F GRA|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, overdrive:44abfbd5-2822-47b6-b342-272f71985685|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:5b639405-8c62-43fa-8838-d5fc38d0ca1d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-21T06:13:46.265Z
lexile_score 800
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F GRA, F Gra, FANT F GRA
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Bellevue Middle, Croft Middle, Donelson Middle, HG Hill Middle, Hickman Elementary, Two Rivers Middle, Wright Middle
primary_isbn 9780399174995
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000486377|Book|Books||English|Philomel Books,|[2016]|217 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:44abfbd5-2822-47b6-b342-272f71985685|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2016|, overdrive:5b639405-8c62-43fa-8838-d5fc38d0ca1d|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Young Readers Group|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:44abfbd5-2822-47b6-b342-272f71985685 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000486377 TT00009458 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486377 35192048602035 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000486377 35192048601995 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000486377 35192048602001 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000486377 A02134223 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486377 35192048602027 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000486377 35192048602019 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000486377 TT00010967 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486377 35192048602043 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000486377 TT00010805 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486377 FF00126443 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486377 MK10195771 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486377 TT0010565 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:5b639405-8c62-43fa-8838-d5fc38d0ca1d -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Camps -- Juvenile fiction, Fantasy fiction, Juvenile, Magic -- Juvenile fiction
title_display A clatter of jars
title_full A Clatter of Jars, A clatter of jars / Lisa Graff
title_short A clatter of jars
title_sub
topic_facet Camps, Fantasy fiction, Juvenile, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Magic, Science Fiction & Fantasy