Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

The dangerous art of blending in

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 500L
Description

A raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe from debut author Angelo Surmelis.

Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesn't know where he fits in. His strict immigrant Greek mother refuses to see him as anything but a disappointment. His quiet, workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer.

Tired, isolated, scared--Evan finds that his only escape is to draw in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And yes, he kissed one guy over the summer. But it's Henry who's now proving to be irresistible. Henry, who suddenly seems interested in being more than friends. And it's Henry who makes him believe that he deserves more than his mother's harsh words and terrifying abuse.

But as things with Henry heat up, and his mother's abuse escalates, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.

This is a powerful and revelatory coming-of-age novel based on the author's own childhood, about a boy who learns to step into his light.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062659002
9780062659026
9780062821690
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 500L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 0969821f-b758-e50a-3b04-e7bf85a0d69b
Full title dangerous art of blending in
Author surmelis angelo
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-25 10:19:19AM
Last Indexed 2018-05-25 10:20:28AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Angelo Surmelis
author_display Angelo Surmelis
available_at_school Antioch High, Cameron College Prep, Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Glencliff High, Harris Hillman School, Hillsboro High, Hillwood High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, Hunter's Lane High, LEAD Academy High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Stratford STEM High, Whites Creek High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction, Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction, Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction, Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction, Hillwood High - Teen Fiction, Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction, Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Maplewood High - Teen Fiction, McGavock High - Teen Fiction, Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction, Overton High - Teen Fiction, Stratford High - Teen Fiction, Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction
display_description Seventeen-year-old Evan struggles to deal with his mother's abuse and his new feelings for his friend Henry. Evan Panos's strict immigrant Greek mother sees him as a disappointment. His workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer. His only escape is drawing, in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And Henry makes Evan believe that he deserves more than his mother's harsh words and terrifying abuse. As things escalate, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id 0969821f-b758-e50a-3b04-e7bf85a0d69b
isbn 9780062659002, 9780062659026, 9780062821690
item_details ils:CARL0000700065|35192050315567|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Surmeli|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000700065|35192050315575|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Surmeli|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299257|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299259|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299261|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299263|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299265|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299267|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||65397||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299269|Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||66435||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299271|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|REAL F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299273|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299275|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299277|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299280|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299281|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299283|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299285|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299289|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299291|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299293|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000700065|TT00014249|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Sur|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, overdrive:287e49c3-dce8-4bb2-a068-135f8b29c88a|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:85ce8cbc-d8e5-4479-bd60-4f7be5ab390c|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-25T15:20:28.323Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 500
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F Sur, REAL F Sur
local_time_since_added_school Six Months, Year
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High, Cameron College Prep, Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Glencliff High, Harris Hillman School, Hillsboro High, Hillwood High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, Hunter's Lane High, LEAD Academy High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Stratford STEM High, Whites Creek High
primary_isbn 9780062659002
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000700065|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2018]|315 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:287e49c3-dce8-4bb2-a068-135f8b29c88a|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2018|, overdrive:85ce8cbc-d8e5-4479-bd60-4f7be5ab390c|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school ils:CARL0000700065|35192050315567|Currently Unavailable|On Hold Shelf|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000700065|35192050315575|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299257|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299259|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299261|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299263|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299265|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299267|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299269|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299271|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299273|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299275|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299277|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299280|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299281|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299283|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299285|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299289|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299291|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|QQ00299293|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000700065|TT00014249|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:287e49c3-dce8-4bb2-a068-135f8b29c88a|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:85ce8cbc-d8e5-4479-bd60-4f7be5ab390c|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Gay teenagers -- Family relationships -- Fiction, Gay teenagers -- Fiction, Greek Americans -- Fiction, Love stories, Young adult fiction
title_display The dangerous art of blending in
title_full The Dangerous Art of Blending In, The dangerous art of blending in / a novel by Angelo Surmelis
title_short The dangerous art of blending in
title_sub
topic_facet Family relationships, Gay teenagers, Greek Americans, Love stories, Romance, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction