The dangerous art of blending in

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 3.6 - AR Pts: 9
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 500L
Description

~Lambda Literary Award finalist for the best LGBT YA novel of 2018~

A raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe from debut author Angelo Surmelis.

Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesn't know where he fits in. His strict immigrant Greek mother refuses to see him as anything but a disappointment. His quiet, workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer.

Tired, isolated, scared--Evan finds that his only escape is to draw in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And yes, he kissed one guy over the summer. But it's Henry who's now proving to be irresistible. Henry, who suddenly seems interested in being more than friends. And it's Henry who makes him believe that he deserves more than his mother's harsh words and terrifying abuse.

But as things with Henry heat up, and his mother's abuse escalates, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.

This is a powerful and revelatory coming-of-age novel based on the author's own childhood, about a boy who learns to step into his light.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062659002
9780062659026
9780062821690
Reading Level:
UG
Level 3.6, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 500L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 0969821f-b758-e50a-3b04-e7bf85a0d69b
Grouping Title dangerous art of blending in
Grouping Author surmelis angelo
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-14 22:44:44PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-15 02:47:58AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 9
accelerated_reader_reading_level 3.6
author Angelo Surmelis
author_display Angelo Surmelis
available_at_school Cameron College Prep
Cane Ridge High
East Nashville Magnet High
Glencliff High
Harris Hillman School
Hume-Fogg Magnet High
Hunter's Lane High
Independence Academy
LEAD Academy High
MLK Jr. Magnet
Maplewood High
McGavock High
Nashville School of the Arts
Overton High
Pearl-Cohn High
Stratford STEM High
Whites Creek High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction
Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction
East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction
Glencliff High - Teen Fiction
Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction
Hillwood High - Teen Fiction
Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction
Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction
Independence Academy - Teen Fiction
MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction
Maplewood High - Teen Fiction
McGavock High - Teen Fiction
Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction
Overton High - Teen Fiction
Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction
Stratford High - Teen Fiction
Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction
display_description Seventeen-year-old Evan struggles to deal with his mother's abuse and his new feelings for his friend Henry. Evan Panos's strict immigrant Greek mother sees him as a disappointment. His workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer. His only escape is drawing, in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And Henry makes Evan believe that he deserves more than his mother's harsh words and terrifying abuse. As things escalate, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.
format_category_school Audio Books
Books
eBook
format_school Book
eAudiobook
eBook
id 0969821f-b758-e50a-3b04-e7bf85a0d69b
isbn 9780062659002
9780062659026
9780062821690
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299263 East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 63290
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299259 Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 61182
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299265 Glencliff High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 64325
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299287 Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction Realistic F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 6G632
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299271 Hillwood High - Teen Fiction REAL F Sur 1 false false Checked Out 67440
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299273 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299289 Stratford High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 6H705
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299277 MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 6C497
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299280 McGavock High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 6D532
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299293 Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 71181
ils:CARL0000700065 TT00014249 East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 63290
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299285 Overton High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 6F615
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299275 Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 6A452
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299281 McGavock High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 6D532
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299267 Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 65397
ils:CARL0000700065 35192050315567 Green Hills - Teen Fiction YA Fiction Surmeli 1 false false Checked Out GH
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299261 Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 62242
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299291 Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 6I787
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00355904 Independence Academy - Teen Fiction F SUR 1 false false On Shelf 7G457
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299283 Maplewood High - Teen Fiction F Sur 1 false false On Shelf 6E550
overdrive:85ce8cbc-d8e5-4479-bd60-4f7be5ab390c -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
overdrive:287e49c3-dce8-4bb2-a068-135f8b29c88a -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
itype_school
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-15T07:47:58.39Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 500
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F SUR
F Sur
REAL F Sur
Realistic F Sur
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Cameron College Prep
Cane Ridge High
East Nashville Magnet High
Glencliff High
Harris Hillman School
Hillwood High
Hume-Fogg Magnet High
Hunter's Lane High
Independence Academy
LEAD Academy High
MLK Jr. Magnet
Maplewood High
McGavock High
Nashville School of the Arts
Overton High
Pearl-Cohn High
Stratford STEM High
Whites Creek High
primary_isbn 9780062659002
publishDate 2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000700065 Book Books First edition. English Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018] 315 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:85ce8cbc-d8e5-4479-bd60-4f7be5ab390c eBook eBook English HarperCollins 2018
overdrive:287e49c3-dce8-4bb2-a068-135f8b29c88a eAudiobook Audio Books English Balzer + Bray 2018
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299263 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299259 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299265 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299287 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299271 Checked Out Checked Out false false false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299273 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299289 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299277 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299280 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299293 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 TT00014249 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299285 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299275 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299281 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299267 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 35192050315567 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299261 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299291 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00355904 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000700065 QQ00299283 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
overdrive:85ce8cbc-d8e5-4479-bd60-4f7be5ab390c -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:287e49c3-dce8-4bb2-a068-135f8b29c88a -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Gay teenagers -- Family relationships -- Fiction
Gay teenagers -- Fiction
Greek Americans -- Fiction
Love stories
Young adult fiction
title_display The dangerous art of blending in
title_full The Dangerous Art of Blending In
The dangerous art of blending in / a novel by Angelo Surmelis
title_short The dangerous art of blending in
title_sub
topic_facet Family relationships
Gay teenagers
Greek Americans
Love stories
Romance
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature
Young adult fiction