Sword and verse

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley called "fascinating and unique," debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner.

Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training, who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death.

Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that's been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn't helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance--an underground rebel army--to help liberate the city's slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries--one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062324610
9780062324634
9780062467553
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 01681dfd-2f80-6374-6c51-178cfca0a50d
Grouping Title sword and verse
Grouping Author macmillan kathy
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-24 23:03:32PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-25 00:24:16AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author MacMillan, Kathy, 1975-
author_display MacMillan, Kathy
available_at_school Cane Ridge High, Glencliff High, Hillwood High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, Overton High, Stratford STEM High, Whites Creek High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Hillwood High - Teen Fiction, Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Maplewood High - Teen Fiction, Overton High - Teen Fiction, Stratford High - Teen Fiction, Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction
display_description When Raisa, a slave since being kidnapped as a child, is chosen to become a tutor and learn a secret language, she is torn between her feelings for Prince Mati and her desire to help free her people.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id 01681dfd-2f80-6374-6c51-178cfca0a50d
isbn 9780062324610, 9780062324634, 9780062467553
item_details ils:CARL0000476664|35192048654911|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction MacMill|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000476664|35192048654929|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction MacMill|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000476664|35192048654937|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction MacMill|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000476664|35192048654945|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction MacMill|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000476664|B00759930|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000476664|QQ00218780|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000476664|QQ00219708|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000476664|QQ00219793|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000476664|QQ00219866|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000476664|QQ00221621|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000476664|QQ00221706|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000476664|QQ00221784|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000476664|QQ00222724|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|FAN F MAC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, overdrive:a87c53a4-7f36-4d0a-b98d-39e2ab4b6c2d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:cc6c54c8-ccd8-4ffc-8df5-d5dc61df9c76|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-25T05:24:16.703Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F MAC, FAN F MAC
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Cane Ridge High, Glencliff High, Hillwood High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, Overton High, Stratford STEM High, Whites Creek High
primary_isbn 9780062324610
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000476664|Book|Books|First edition.|English|HarperTeen, an imprint of HarpercollinsPublishers,|[2016]|376 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:a87c53a4-7f36-4d0a-b98d-39e2ab4b6c2d|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2016|, overdrive:cc6c54c8-ccd8-4ffc-8df5-d5dc61df9c76|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000476664 35192048654911 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000476664 35192048654929 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000476664 QQ00218780 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476664 QQ00219866 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476664 QQ00222724 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476664 QQ00219793 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476664 QQ00221621 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476664 QQ00221784 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476664 QQ00221706 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476664 QQ00219708 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476664 B00759930 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000476664 35192048654937 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000476664 35192048654945 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
overdrive:a87c53a4-7f36-4d0a-b98d-39e2ab4b6c2d -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:cc6c54c8-ccd8-4ffc-8df5-d5dc61df9c76 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Fantasy fiction, American, Interpersonal relations -- Fiction, Secrets -- Fiction, Slaves -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display Sword and verse
title_full Sword and Verse, Sword and verse / Kathy MacMillan
title_short Sword and verse
title_sub
topic_facet Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, American, Interpersonal relations, Romance, Secrets, Slaves, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction